Cleaning up my TBR #4

Back in November last year, I did my first “Cleaning Up the TBR” post, something I first saw over on Fictionophile, who had seen it on Lost in a Story, and thought it was a really good idea. I know I’m not the only one who thought the same as I was seeing it everywhere so I am glad to jump on the bandwagon. Hopefully no one will mind 🙂

The idea is you take your Goodreads TBR list, sort by ascending date added, and look at the oldest five to ten items on your list. If you haven’t read them by now, are you likely to? Why or why not? If you want to keep them, make the case. This is my fourth visit to the list so far, with the last one in March. Here’s what’s next on the list…

Willnot by James Sallis

WillnotAfter my last unsuccessful experience with James Sallis (The Killer is Dying), I was slightly nervous picking up Willnot, especially as it was my choice for my first ever buddy read with Sarah over at Brainfluff. Thankfully, it looks like The Killer is Dying was a bit of a blip and, here, I got all the Sallis I could have hoped for – yay!

In his typical style, Sallis using words sparingly to paint a picture I found incredibly vivid.  I could picture the small town of Willnot and the people that lived there and I fell a little bit in love with the central character, Hale, a doctor come town ‘wise man’.  It’s his story that’s been told, but also the story of other people who live in Hale.  It’s all seems very simple on the surface, as life often is, but underneath there is plenty going on.

Tuesday Intro: Whistle In the Dark by Emma Healey

Once again this week, I’m linking up again with Vicky at I’d Rather Be At The Beach who hosts a post every Tuesday for people to share the first chapter/paragraph of the book they are reading, or thinking of reading soon.  This week, I’m reading a book that came out a few weeks ago, Whistle in the Dark by Emma Healey, whose last book – Elizabeth is Missing  I really enjoyed.

My Husband’s Lies by Caroline England

My Husband's Lies by Caroline England

Where to start with My Husband’s Lies without giving anything away?  I’m not sure I can.  This book is so full of secrets and twists and turns spoilers are hard to avoid.  I’m going to try by just talking broad brushstrokes and seeing how that works.

It starts with a wedding, one which introduces you to four childhood friends – Nick (who’s wedding day it is), Will, Dan and Jen, all of whom, I think it’s fair to say, are slightly messed up.  Not one of them is completely happy and not one of them seems capable of being honest, with themselves or others.

So far, so like a lot of books out there.  What made this one stand out for me was how painful all their stories were and how heart-breaking.  I also liked how none went where I expected them to go.  For any of the four to be happy, people they loved would need to get hurt.  It was all very messy, just like life.

Having read England’s previous book, Beneath The Skin, the way the story was told (alternating chapters for each character) and the way it unfolded (it’s a slow build) was probably what I expected.  And this made me happy.  I had really enjoyed Beneath the Skin and I wasn’t disappointed here.  Liked it a lot!

About the book

Do you really know your friends?

On the afternoon of Nick and Lisa’s wedding, their close friend is found poised on a hotel window ledge, ready to jump.

As the shock hits their friendship group, they soon realise that none of them are being as honest with themselves – or with each other – as they think.

And there are secrets lurking that could destroy everything.
Tense, disturbing and clever, My Husband’s Lies is a breath-taking read, perfect for fans of Lucy Clarke and Erin Kelly.

Publisher: Avon
Publication date: 17th May 2018
Number of pages: 384
Rating: 5 out of 5
Genre: Genre fiction

Add to: Goodreads / Amazon UK / Amazon US

Note: I received a copy of this book in return for a fair and honest review.  All thoughts, feelings and opinions are my own.  

The Things We Learn When We’re Dead by Charlie Laidlaw

The Things We Learn When We're DeadOn her way home from a party, Lorna steps in front of a car.  Later, she wakes up in a stark white room she thinks is a hospital but is anything but.  In fact, she’s on a spaceship lost in space with a captain known as God.  It sounds very confusing but it really isn’t.  What it is, is a story of a young woman who has to take a long hard look at her life and make some decisions.  She just does it all in a pretty interesting and unique setting.

That’s what makes this book so enjoyable and so out of the ordinary, though I am not sure I agree with the ‘blurb’ that likens it to the Wizard of Oz (though Dorothy does get a mention) and Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, even if Lorna is lost in a strange land.

Weekly Update: 13th May, 2018

Hi All and happy Sunday.  I hope you are having a good week and good weekend.  Ours has been pretty good, though I have been fairly quiet on the blog.  For me, it started with a glorious bank holiday, which also happened to be my birthday and a visit to a nearby museum/stately home and picnic in the grounds.  It ended with a trip to a small Scottish village for a friend’s 60th birthday and much drinking and dancing.  It’s probably no wonder I didn’t get much blogging done!  In fact, I only posted twice.

Plants Taste Better by Richard Buckley

plants taste better richard buckleyPlants Taste Better offers 70 vegan recipes that look at using as much – if not all – of the plant you can and, whilst not a vegan myself (I’m a vegetarian), I have to say I am intrigued by the idea of cutting more animal-based products out of my diet.  My main problem when it comes to this is, though, how dull a lot of the recipes I look up online seem.  Not any more.

Not only is Plants Taste Better one of the most gorgeous cookbooks I have come across in a while, with pictures of food that made my mouth water, it is also one of the most interesting, from Buckley’s philosophy that put vegetables front and centre, to the range of recipes on offer.  I feel like if I did decide to become a vegan, I wouldn’t be bored with the range of options available.

Tuesday Intro: My Husband’s Lies by Caroline England

Once again this week, I’m linking up again with Vicky at I’d Rather Be At The Beach who hosts a post every Tuesday for people to share the first chapter/paragraph of the book they are reading, or thinking of reading soon.

This week it’s My Husband’s Lies by Caroline England, whose last book (Beneath The Skin) I really enjoyed, which meant I really wanted to read this one.  This new book comes out next week so I’m behind on cracking the spine but am excited to finally get reading.

What is it about?

Weekly update: 6th May, 2018

Hi all and happy Sunday.  I hope you are having a good weekend.  I am busy enjoying the sun (writing this in the back garden feels so good!) and not much else.  It’s quite nice after a pretty busy week.  I’ve been gardening, decorating and knocking on doors to try and get people out to vote in the local council elections.  Oh, and work – I am now an expert on the new data protection legislation that is coming out for those in the EU in a couple of weeks.  I am not sure what I thought I’d be doing when I started working for myself but this wasn’t it.  Still, it’s been fun learning something new and I’ve been working for a great client so I really shouldn’t complain (though I will, just a bit).

On the reading and blog front, I feel like I’ve finally gotten my mojo back, enough to write my first weekly update in nearly two months at any rate.  Here’s what I posted…