My Husband’s Lies by Caroline England

My Husband's Lies by Caroline England

Where to start with My Husband’s Lies without giving anything away?  I’m not sure I can.  This book is so full of secrets and twists and turns spoilers are hard to avoid.  I’m going to try by just talking broad brushstrokes and seeing how that works.

It starts with a wedding, one which introduces you to four childhood friends – Nick (who’s wedding day it is), Will, Dan and Jen, all of whom, I think it’s fair to say, are slightly messed up.  Not one of them is completely happy and not one of them seems capable of being honest, with themselves or others.

So far, so like a lot of books out there.  What made this one stand out for me was how painful all their stories were and how heart-breaking.  I also liked how none went where I expected them to go.  For any of the four to be happy, people they loved would need to get hurt.  It was all very messy, just like life.

Having read England’s previous book, Beneath The Skin, the way the story was told (alternating chapters for each character) and the way it unfolded (it’s a slow build) was probably what I expected.  And this made me happy.  I had really enjoyed Beneath the Skin and I wasn’t disappointed here.  Liked it a lot!

About the book

Do you really know your friends?

On the afternoon of Nick and Lisa’s wedding, their close friend is found poised on a hotel window ledge, ready to jump.

As the shock hits their friendship group, they soon realise that none of them are being as honest with themselves – or with each other – as they think.

And there are secrets lurking that could destroy everything.
Tense, disturbing and clever, My Husband’s Lies is a breath-taking read, perfect for fans of Lucy Clarke and Erin Kelly.

Publisher: Avon
Publication date: 17th May 2018
Number of pages: 384
Rating: 5 out of 5
Genre: Genre fiction

Add to: Goodreads / Amazon UK / Amazon US

Note: I received a copy of this book in return for a fair and honest review.  All thoughts, feelings and opinions are my own.  

3 comments
  1. Oh, yes, I think I must read this one! Thanks for sharing.

  2. I hope to read this one before the end of the month. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Great review.

  3. Hmmm…this one sounds interesting and since you gave it 5 out of 5, I’ll at least take a look. Might have to be in the right mood for it.

Let me know what you're thinking...