Tuesday Intro: 12th January 2016

imageAfter way too many weeks away, I’m linking up again with Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea who hosts a post every Tuesday for people to share the first chapter / paragraph of the book they are reading, or thinking of reading soon. I really enjoy these tasters when I read them on other blogs so wanted to join in.

This week, I’m reading Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll.  Here’s what it’s about…

imageHER PERFECT LIFE
IS A PERFECT LIE.

As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiancé, she’s this close to living the perfect life she’s worked so hard to achieve.

But Ani has a secret.

There’s something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything.

The question remains: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for—or, will it at long last, set Ani free?

And here’s how it starts…

I inspected the knife in my hand.

“That’s the Shun. Feel how light it is compared to the Wustoff?”

I pricked a finger on the blade’s witchy chin, testing. The handle was supposed to be moisture resistant, but it was quickly going humid in my grip.

“I think that design is better suited for someone of your stature”. I looked up at the sales associate, bracing for the word people always use to describe short girls  hungry to heat “thin”. “Petite”. He smiled like I should be flattered. Slender, elegant, graceful – now that’s a complement that might actually defang me.

What do you think? Would you keep reading?

Emma

 

 

20 comments
  1. Oh, yes, it sounds like those secrets are going to rear their head…and all hell will break loose. Thanks for sharing, and here’s mine: “MISSING PIECES”

    1. I just hope they are good ones…

  2. I like that the intro. It drew me in immediately. The blurb didn’t quite catch my interest though, so I’m on the fence about this one.

    1. It is one of the books that has seemed to divide people in reviews but I have to say, I’m enjoying so far.

  3. Yes, I have this one on my Kindle to read at some point. I remember hearing a bit about it a while back and thinking it would be one I would like. Hope you enjoy it!

    1. It is worth digging out (or whatever you soon kindles when the books stack up!) 😄

  4. I’ve heard mixed reports on this one and it was on my TBR for quite awhile. The intro is pretty creepy despite the innocuous topic.

    1. I know it has mixed reviews on Goodreads but it is another where they’ve said for fans of Gone Girl and I wouldn’t say that was the case at all.

  5. The intro turned me off, but the blurb made me pay attention. I’d like to read more.

    1. It’s not the best is it. It does make sense as you get to know the main character Ani though.

  6. I like the synopsis and although I wasn’t overly taken with the opener I’d definitely keep turning – I can’t resist books with a secret in the past!

    1. I can’t either. I am intrigued…though also worried I will be let down.

  7. I’d like to read this one!

    1. I have to say, so far, so good.

  8. I do like books with secrets so I’d probably keep reading.
    Thanks for joining us this week.

    1. I can never resist…though wish they hadn’t said for fans of Gone Girl as its not the same!

  9. Ha… I’ve read this one so…. (I enjoyed it though very much disliked Ani!).

    1. She isn’t pleasant is she?

  10. I’ve seen this one around…and I’m tempted to pick it up.

    1. I’ve just finished and would say it’s worth a read…if you can get over how annoying the main characters is!

Let me know what you're thinking...