What to Read Next?

After finally finishing Middlemarch earlier this week, I decided a trip to my local library was in order to stock up on some (possibly) lighter reading fare to take me through the next few weeks. Coming home with me were:

The Book: The Dud Avocado by Elaine Dundy (chosen for the title more than anything else)

Dud Avocado

The Blurb: The Dud Avocado follows the romantic and comedic adventures of a young American who heads overseas to conquer Paris in the late 1950s. Edith Wharton and Henry James wrote about the American girl abroad, but it was Elaine Dundy’s Sally Jay Gorce who told us what she was really thinking. Charming, sexy, and hilarious, The Dud Avocado gained instant cult status when it was first published and it remains a timeless portrait of a woman hell-bent on living.

The Book: Fallout by Sadie Jones (chosen because I’ve read everything else she’s written and really enjoyed them)

Fallout

The Blurb: Leaving behind an emotionally disastrous childhood in a provincial northern town, budding playwright Luke Kanowski begins a new life in London that includes Paul Driscoll, an aspiring producer who will become his best friend, and Leigh Radley, Paul’s girlfriend. Talented and ambitious, the trio found a small theater company that enjoys unexpected early success. Then, one fateful evening, Luke meets Nina Jacobs, a dynamic and emotionally damaged actress he cannot forget, even after she drifts into a marriage with a manipulative theater producer. As Luke becomes a highly sought after playwright, he stumbles in love, caught in two triangles where love requited and unrequited, friendship, and art will clash with terrible consequences for all involved.

The Book: Mary Boleyn by Alison Weir (chosen because I love the Tudor period but know almost nothing about Mary)

Mary Boleyn

The Blurb: Sister to Queen Anne Boleyn, she was seduced by two kings and was an intimate player in one of history’s most gripping dramas. Yet much of what we know about Mary Boleyn has been fostered through garbled gossip, romantic fiction, and the misconceptions repeated by historians. New York Times bestselling author and noted British historian Alison Weir gives us the first ever full-scale, in-depth biography of Henry VIII’s famous mistress, in which Weir explodes much of the mythology that surrounds Mary Boleyn and uncovers the truth about one of the most misunderstood figures of the Tudor age.

In addition, I’m also finishing my Classic Club Spin, A Room of One’s Own, which I’m quite excited about.

Have you read any of them and which should I start with?

Emma x

2 comments
  1. I’ve been wanting to read The Dud Avocado for quite some time and have heard great things! My book club read The Group not too long ago and they’re supposed to be fairly similar. Looking forward to seeing what you think 🙂

    1. It’s the one I’ve gone for first. Only a few chapters in but looking good so far. If it stays that way will try The Group too, which I haven’t heard of I must admit so now need to go off and read up on! Emma

Let me know what you're thinking...